Google accepts that you continue to be tracked with your smartphone by them even when you have turned off location history. The search engine giant has reacted after the controversy sparked by the Associated Press investigation.
Whether on an Android smartphone or iPhone, some Google services continue to track down your activities, even when the Location History option is turned off. This revelation from the Associated Press highlights some shortcomings, users eager not to share this data with Google did not particularly appreciate the maneuver. Admittedly, it is possible to put a definitive end, but by setting the parameters independently in each service and not only the location history.
Google now explains that you are still being spied on even if you turn off location history.
Through an update of its English online support page, Google gives some additional explanations:
“You can turn off location history at the account level at any time. This setting does not affect other location services for your device, such as Google Location Services and Find My Device. Some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, such as Search and Maps. When you turn off placement history for your Google Account, all devices associated with this Google Account are turned off.
We regret that Google did not give these explanations before the publication of the Associated Press investigation. Some users may have thought that their data was no longer stored at Google by disabling the history.